Fall 2010 NANO Reading Series

Kaboom Books and the Editors of NANO Fiction are delighted to bring back a third season of the NANO Reading series. This season’s lineup features eight readers from the Houston and Austin areas.

The NANO Reading Series is held at kaboom Books at the intersection of Houston Ave. and Bayland on the second Tuesday of every month at 7:30pm. As always, there will be commemorative chapbooks to celebrate the reading and refreshments will be served.


September 14th, 2010
Casey Fleming and Sophie Rosenblum

Casey Fleming is a native Texan, but has lived in 13 cities and 6 countries. She holds a BA from Smith College, an MA from American University, and and MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Houston. Her essays and short stories appear or are forthcoming in various literary journals and anthologies. This year she was a finalist for the Tobias Wolff Award in Short Fiction. She teaches English at Kinkaid High School, and is the co-founder and organizer of the Poison Pen Reading Series.

Sophie Rosenblum was the 2008 – 2009 Rice University Parks Fellow. She received her MFA from the University of Houston in 2008. Recent work has appeared or is forthcoming in The Saint Ann’s Review, SmokeLong Quarterly, Dossier Journal, Avery Anthology and Gulf Coast.

October 12th, 2010
Brandon Lamson and Hannah Gamble

Brandon Lamson received his Ph.D. in Creative Writing and Literature from the University of Houston. He has taught writing at various schools and universities, including an alternative school for inmates located on Riker’s Island. His chapbook, Houston Gothic, co-authored with Chris Munde, was published in 2007, and his poems have appeared in Brilliant Corners, Pebble Lake Review, and Hunger Magazine.

Hannah Gamble graduated in May from the University of Houston. She is spending this year teaching Creative Writing at Rice University where she is the 2010/ 2011 Parks Fellow. She is the winner of the Charles Simic Poetry Prize, and the recipient of a summer writing fellowship from the Edward F. Albee Foundation. You can find her poems in Ecotone, Indiana Review, Mid-American Review, Washington Square, Hayden’s Ferry Review, and other places.

November 9th, 2010
Carrie Oeding, Aaron Reynolds, and Timothy Willis Sanders

5247416492_262e117150Carrie Oeding’s first book of poems, Our List of Solutions, was selected by David Dodd Lee as the winner of the 2010 Lester M. Wolfson Poetry Award and will be published in 2011 by Indiana University Press’s new poetry series 42 Miles Press. Her work has appeared in the Best New Poets, 2005 anthology, DIAGRAM, Colorado Review, 32 Poems, Mid-American Review, Third Coast, Greensboro Review, storySouth, Brevity: A Journal of Concise Literary Nonfiction, and elsewhere. Brenda Hillman selected her poems for second place in The Poetry Center of Chicago’s 2009 Juried Reading Award. She earned her MFA from Eastern Washington University. She then held a post-doctoral Fellowship from Ohio University where she received her Ph.D. and was awarded the Claude Kantner Fellowship. Carrie currently teaches as a Houston Writing Fellow.

Aaron Reynolds hold an M.F.A. in fiction writing from Western Michigan University, and his stories and essays have appeared in Willow Springs, Third Coast, Sonora Review, Laurel Review, and Gulf Coast. He has also been awarded Donald Barthelme Memorial Fellowships in both fiction and non-fiction at the University of Houston, where he recently received his PhD and continues to teach creative writing full time.

Timothy Willis Sanders (b.1980) is a writer living in Austin, TX. His work has appeared in NANO Fiction, Japanese Baseball, and elsewhere. He is the author of Orange Juice, a collection of short stories forthcoming on Awesome Machine Press. He is currently an editorial assistant at American Short Fiction.

December 14th, 2010 5331930388_8f14350f44
Ryan Dilbert and Irene Keliher

Ryan Dilbert is a novice tattoo artist, an amateur vegan chef and a terrible salsa dancer. His novel Time Crumbling like a Wet Cracker (No Record Press) is forthcoming in Spring 2011. His work can be seen in FRiGG, decomP, Pear Noir, Titular, and Best of the Web 2009. He likes your new haircut.

Irene Keliher’s work has appeared in the New Ohio Review, Quarterly West, the Bellingham Review, Potomac Review, and the Mississippi Review, and her story collection was a finalist for the 2010 Bakeless Prize. A recipient of a 2010 Houston Arts Alliance grant, she’s also received the Tobias Wolff Award for Fiction, the Potomac Review Fiction Award, and a Ragdale Foundation residency, and her essays have placed twice in the Atlantic Monthly Student Writing Contest. She’s written a bilingual libretto for the Houston Grand Opera and holds an MFA in Fiction from the University of Houston.

The NANO Readings Series is made possible by Kaboom Books. If you are in the Houston area, please stop by one of their two locations conveniently located in the downtown and Heights neighborhoods.